🔎 How we source the numbers on this page. Every figure below comes from a named primary document — KIIT’s own placement report and accreditation statement on kiit.ac.in, the KIITEE 2026 eligibility, counselling and reporting pages on kiitee.kiit.ac.in, the KIITEE 2026 Information Brochure, and KIIT’s own data submission to the Ministry of Education’s NIRF. Each one is named, with its page path and capture date, in the Sources section at the foot of this page. Aggregator estimates are not used, and where KIIT does not publish a number we say so instead of printing one.
Evidence note. Check the academic year printed beside every changing figure — placement reports, eligibility windows and exam dates are reissued each cycle, and last year’s number reads exactly like this year’s. Nothing here should be multiplied to reach a four-year total: KIIT publishes its fee schedule to admitted candidates one cycle at a time and does not state that the same amount repeats. A published seat count or hostel capacity is what exists, not what you are assured of — publication of capacity does not guarantee allotment. Found an error? Tell us.
📅 Published 18 April 2026 · ↻ Last Updated 17 August 2026
By Krishna Pandey, Founder & Lead Counsellor — 12+ yrs in B.Tech, MBA & MBBS admissions
✔️ Reviewed for factual accuracy by Tushar Singh, Head of Engineering Admissions · Article Reviewer · Admission cycle 2026
College Overview — KIIT Deemed to be University, Bhubaneswar
📌 In one line: the institute’s identity, legal type and official code — the details you need before you fill a KIITEE application or believe a third-party listing.
| Institute Name | Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Deemed to be University, Bhubaneswar |
|---|---|
| Also Known As | KIIT · KIIT University · KIIT Deemed to be University · KIIT Bhubaneswar |
| Institute Type | Private Deemed to be University under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956 — not a government college, and there is no state fee regulator setting its tuition. KIIT’s own accreditation statement lists NAAC A++, NBA ‘Tier 1’ (Washington Accord), IET (UK) and ABET (USA) accreditation for B.Tech, plus approvals from MCI, DCI, BCI and INC for its professional courses. KIIT is not an Institution of Eminence — the UGC’s official IoE list carries twelve institutions and KIIT is not one of them. |
| Established | Founded 1992; opened five years later as a centre for higher learning; granted university status under Section 3 of the UGC Act in 2004 (KIIT’s own Ranking & Recognition page). Founder: Prof. Achyuta Samanta. |
| Location | Patia, Bhubaneswar, Odisha 751024. KIIT states that it “operates exclusively from its permanent campus in Bhubaneswar, Odisha, with no other campuses elsewhere” — the numbered “campuses” are zones of that one township, not separate cities. |
| Degree Offered | B.Tech (4 years) and B.Tech Lateral Entry (3 years). The 2026 branches, taken from KIIT’s own first-year reporting schedule: CSE; CSE (AI); CSE (AI & ML); CSE (Data Science); CSE (Cyber Security); CSE (IoT); CSE (IoT, Cyber Security & Blockchain); Computer Science & Communication; Computer Science & System Engineering; Information Technology; Electronics & Computer Science; Electrical & Computer Engineering; Electrical Engineering; Electronics & Telecommunication; ETC (VLSI Design & Technology); Electronics & Electrical Engineering; Mechanical; Mechanical (Automobile); Mechanical (Electric Vehicles); Mechanical (Digital Manufacturing with AI & CPS); Mechatronics; Aerospace; Civil; Civil (Advanced Practices in Construction); Civil (Multi-Modal Transportation Infrastructure); Civil (Building Information Modeling); Construction Technology; Electrical (Electric Vehicles); Electrical (Electrical Systems for Smart Buildings); Biotechnology; Chemical Engineering. |
| Exams Accepted | KIITEE 2026 — KIIT’s own entrance test, with no application or examination fee. KIIT also opened a separate application form and allotment for B.Tech candidates who appeared in JEE (Main) in 2026; treat that as a route KIIT opens by notification, not a standing guarantee. |
| Institute Code | IR-E-U-0356 (Engineering) and IR-O-U-0356 (Overall) — KIIT’s NIRF institute IDs. Type either into nirfindia.org and you get KIIT’s own signed data return: sanctioned intake, student strength, faculty count and the median salary of placed graduates. That is the one place you can check a KIIT placement claim against a number KIIT filed with the Ministry of Education. |
| Official Website | kiit.ac.in · admissions: kiitee.kiit.ac.in |
Official sources: KIIT Deemed to be University, “What is the accreditation of KIIT?” (kiit.ac.in/faq-items/what-is-the-accreditation-of-kiit), “Ranking and Recognitions” (kiit.ac.in/about/ranking-recognition); KIITEE 2026 Reporting schedule (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/reporting); UGC Institutions of Eminence list (ioe.ugc.ac.in/Home/ListofIOE); NIRF India Rankings 2025 (nirfindia.org). All captured 17 August 2026.
KIIT Bhubaneswar B.Tech fees 2026 — what is actually published
📌 In one line: ₹75,000 at counselling (₹10,000 counselling registration is inside that figure, not extra), balance on the reporting day, and US$10,000 a year if you are a foreign national or NRI.
KIIT is a deemed-to-be university, so no state fee-regulating authority fixes or publishes its tuition, and KIIT does not put a branch-wise B.Tech fee table on its public website. What it does publish is the amount you carry to counselling, the international fee and the withdrawal rule. Those are the rows below, and they are the only KIIT money figures on this page, because they are the only ones we can put a KIIT page path against.
| Fee head | Amount | Includes | Excludes | Reading note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payable at KIITEE counselling | ₹75,000 | The ₹10,000 counselling registration fee, and the admission kit | Tuition, hostel, mess, exam and every other recurring charge | KIIT’s wording is “Amount of Rs. 75,000/- which includes the Counseling Registration fees of Rs.10,000”. It is one payment of ₹75,000, not ₹75,000 plus ₹10,000 — do not budget ₹85,000. |
| Balance first-year fee | Per the fee structure issued with your allotment | — | — | Paid on the day of reporting. KIIT does not publish this schedule online, so ask for it in writing with your allotment letter before you pay the ₹75,000, not after. |
| Foreign national / NRI / OCI / PIO tuition | US$10,000 per annum (undergraduate) | Annual course fee for the UG programme | Hostel, mess, and the registration fee below | SAARC-country candidates are listed separately at US$8,000 per annum. This is an annual figure, not a total — and it is not a rupee conversion of any Indian-quota fee. |
| Registration fee (withdrawal rule) | ₹50,000 or US$700, whichever is higher | — | — | If you withdraw after admission but before reporting, KIIT refunds the total fees excluding this amount. After classes commence the refund drops to 75%, then 50%, then nil more than 30 days in. |
| Branch-wise annual tuition (Indian quota) | Updating soon | — | — | Not published on kiit.ac.in or kiitee.kiit.ac.in. Third-party listings disagree with each other on this by several lakh over four years, which is exactly why we will not print one. Get it from your allotment papers. |
Official sources: KIITEE 2026, “Counselling and Seat Allotment” (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/counselling-and-seat-allotment); KIIT DU, “International & NRI Admission Fees” (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/international-application/international-nri-admission-fees); KIITEE 2026 Information Brochure, 3 June 2026 edition (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/pdf/Information-Brochure-3rd-June-2026.pdf). All captured 17 August 2026.
KIIT hostel — what KIIT publishes, and what it does not
📌 In one line: separate boys’ and girls’ hostels with round-the-clock internet and attached canteens — but only about 30% of rooms are air conditioned, and the tariff is not on the website.
| Item | What KIIT states | Reading note |
|---|---|---|
| Rooms | Separate hostels for boys and girls; a dedicated international hostel for foreign students | Room sharing pattern is not stated on the public page — ask for it in the hostel consent step. |
| Air conditioning | About 30% of hostel rooms are air conditioned | Read that literally. Roughly seven in ten rooms are not AC, so plan your budget on a non-AC room and treat an AC allotment as a bonus rather than the default. |
| Connectivity | Round-the-clock wireless internet and intranet in the hostels | Stated as a facility, with no per-student speed figure given by KIIT. |
| Food | Attached canteens serving Indian and Continental food; hygienic kitchen and dining hall | Mess is not described as optional. Budget it as a recurring cost, not a choice. |
| Other | 24-hour reading room; indoor and outdoor games facilities in each hostel | — |
| Hostel and mess tariff | Not listed | KIIT does not publish hostel or mess charges on its public site. The hostel consent step in the KIITEE portal is where the charge is confirmed to an admitted candidate — get the figure in writing there. |
Official source: KIIT Deemed to be University, “Hostel Facility” (kiit.ac.in/campuslife/hostel), captured 17 August 2026. Hostel consent step: KIITEE 2026 hostel consent page (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/hostel26), captured 17 August 2026.
Anti-assumption line: a published hostel facility is capacity, not an allotment. Nothing on KIIT’s hostel page promises every admitted student a room, still less an air-conditioned one, and you should not treat a campus tour photograph as a room type.
KIIT placements — 2025 graduating batch, and the median behind the average
📌 In one line: KIIT School of Technology reports an average CTC of ₹8.50 LPA and a highest of ₹51.00 LPA for the 2025 batch; the median in KIIT’s NIRF return is ₹7.40 lakh, and the median is the honest one.
2025 graduating batch — KIIT’s own placement report
| School | Average CTC | Highest CTC | Scale reported | Reading note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| School of Technology (KSOT) — B.Tech | ₹8.50 LPA | ₹51.00 LPA (Microsoft) | 3,800+ offers from 451 companies; 269 companies at ₹5 LPA or above; 59 companies at ₹10 LPA; 1,209 paid internships | This is the number that applies to a B.Tech applicant. 739+ students held more than one offer, so “offers” is larger than “students placed” — the two are not interchangeable. |
| School of Management (KSOM) — MBA | ₹7.25 LPA | ₹20.00 LPA (Quinbay Technology) | 401 offers from 161 companies | Different programme, different market. Do not read an MBA figure into a B.Tech decision. |
| School of Rural Management (KSRM) | ₹5.75 LPA | ₹20.71 LPA (ETG) | 51 companies for a batch of 152 | — |
| School of Biotechnology (KSBT) | Not listed | ₹8.00 LPA (HighRadius) | 42 companies; 85% placement, with a substantial proportion opting for higher studies | If you are considering B.Tech Biotechnology, this row — not the KSOT row — is your reference point. |
| School of Law (KSOL) | ₹4.50 LPA | ₹9.60 LPA (Wadia Ghandy & Co.) | 52+ firms and companies | — |
| All schools combined | — | — | 757 companies, ~5,000 eligible students, ~4,621 offers, ~92.50% placement conversion | A composite figure across five schools. It is not the B.Tech placement rate and should not be compared against a college that reports engineering alone. |
Official source: KIIT Deemed to be University, “Campus Placement 2025 Graduating Batch” (kiit.ac.in/placement/campus-placement-2025-graduating-batch), captured 17 August 2026.
Largest recruiters by offer count, 2025 batch: TCS 543, Wipro 342, LTIMindtree 242, Capgemini 217, Accenture 201, HighRadius 151. Highest CTCs offered: Microsoft ₹51.00 LPA, Human Resocia ₹44.52 LPA, Hike ₹41.70 LPA, PayPal ₹36.50 LPA, NVIDIA ₹36.28 LPA, Zenken (ITAGAKI Corporation) ₹28.98 LPA, Juspay ₹27.00 LPA, Cisco ₹24.73 LPA, D. E. Shaw India ₹24.30 LPA, JP Morgan Chase ₹19.75 LPA.
Where two KIIT figures disagree, and why: the summary paragraph on KIIT’s own placement page says TCS made 530 offers, while the company table lower down the same page reads 543. Both are KIIT’s. It is a small difference and it changes nothing about the shape of the batch, but you should know the page is not internally consistent before you quote a precise number from it.
What KIIT filed with the Ministry of Education
The number to hold on to is the median, not the average. An average is pulled upward by a handful of very large offers; the median is the point half the placed batch sits below. KIIT files that median with NIRF every year, under its own signature.
| Graduating year | Graduated in minimum stipulated time | Placed | Median salary of placed graduates | Selected for higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-24 | 3,547 | 1,236 | ₹7,40,000 | 81 |
| 2022-23 | 3,619 | 2,636 | ₹7,50,000 | 85 |
| 2021-22 | 3,789 | 1,751 | ₹4,50,000 | 101 |
Official source: National Institutional Ranking Framework, Ministry of Education — data submitted by Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology for India Rankings 2025, institute ID IR-E-U-0356 (nirfindia.org/nirfpdfcdn/2025/pdf/Engineering/IR-E-U-0356.pdf), captured 17 August 2026.
KIIT cutoff — what KIIT publishes about closing ranks
📌 In one line: KIIT does not publish branch-wise closing ranks; allotment runs on KIITEE merit rank, phase by phase, and stops when the quota seats are full.
There is no KIIT equivalent of a state CAP closing-rank list. KIIT’s published counselling rule is that “counselling and seat allocation will be purely on merit basis, i.e. based on the performance in the Entrance Examination”, that the counselling schedule is put out after each phase result, and that “counselling will be stopped as soon as all the seats reserved for the KIITEE-2026 are filled up”. That last clause is the one that decides your branch: a rank that comfortably gets CSE in an early phase can miss it in a later one, because the seats, not the rank, are what ran out.
You will find five-year KIITEE rank tables on aggregator sites. Treat them as reconstructions. KIIT publishes phase-wise results and allotment links, not branch-wise closing ranks, so a table claiming “CSE closed at rank 5,500 in 2024” is quoting a number KIIT has never released. Plan around the phase you sit in, not around a rank band somebody has reverse-engineered.
2021 to 2025 cycles
For the 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025 cycles alike, KIIT has not published branch-wise closing ranks, and nothing on this page invents one. What is on the record and worth planning around is the structure of the process:
- Merit rank is the only lever. Allotment is on KIITEE performance. There is no board-marks quota, no management seat and no separate fee route into a better branch.
- Phase order matters more than a rank band. The full seat matrix is open at the first phase and thins with each one, so the same rank buys a different branch depending on when you sit.
- Reservation is published and fixed. SC 15%, ST 7.5%, PC 3% (locomotor disabilities only, 40% or more), and 30% of the seats in each category are reserved for women candidates in B.Tech and B.Tech & M.Tech Biotechnology. Unfilled reserved seats convert to General.
- Reporting is by surname. For 2026, first-year B.Tech reporting ran on 19 July (surnames A–F), 20 July (G–R) and 21 July (S–Z), with Lateral Entry on 23 July and Biotechnology and Chemical Engineering on 2 August.
Official sources: KIITEE 2026, “Counselling and Seat Allotment” (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/counselling-and-seat-allotment); KIITEE 2026 Information Brochure, 3 June 2026 edition, section 6.0 Reservation of Seats; KIITEE 2026 Reporting schedule (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/reporting). All captured 17 August 2026.
KIITEE 2026 — eligibility, exam pattern and the admission route
In one line: a free, computer-based entrance test of 120 questions in 150 minutes, open to candidates who cleared 10+2 with at least 60% in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics taken together.
Eligibility for B.Tech (4 years)
- Qualifying exam window: you must have passed 10+2 in 2024 or 2025, or be appearing in 2026. A 2023 pass is outside the window.
- Marks: a pass in 10+2 or equivalent with at least 60% in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics taken together. Read that literally — it is the PCM aggregate, not the overall board aggregate, and the lower 45–50% thresholds that circulate on listing sites are not KIIT’s.
- Schooling: you must have studied in regular, full-time formal education. Private or correspondence candidature is excluded.
- Age: born on or after 1 July 2005.
- Lateral entry (3 years): a three-year engineering diploma with at least 60% in aggregate from a State Council of Technical Education, with a prescribed diploma-to-branch mapping.
KIITEE 2026 exam pattern for B.Tech
| Element | Official specification | Reading note |
|---|---|---|
| Sections and questions | Physics 40 · Chemistry 40 · Mathematics 40 — 120 questions | Equal weight across the three subjects. Listing sites that show a 30/30/60 split are describing a paper KIIT does not set. |
| Duration | 150 minutes; the test closes automatically when the time is over | That is 75 seconds per question, not 60 — the paper is less of a speed test than it is usually made out to be. |
| Marking | +4 for a correct answer; 1 mark deducted for every wrong answer | Negative marking is live. Four wrong answers wipe out one right one. |
| Mode | Computer-based test; you may move between sections freely and revisit marked questions | KIIT states that the Phase 5 examination is conducted exclusively in remote-proctored mode. |
| Application / examination fee | Nil | KIITEE charges nothing to apply or to sit the paper. Any site asking you for a KIITEE application payment is not KIIT. |
Official source: KIITEE 2026 Information Brochure, 3 June 2026 edition, “Information on the Test” and “Entrance Examination Subjects & Syllabus” (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/pdf/Information-Brochure-3rd-June-2026.pdf), captured 17 August 2026.
The 2026 phase schedule, and the trap in the last phase
KIITEE 2026 ran in five phases. Applications opened on 10 November 2025. The brochure gives 8 April 2026 as the last date to apply for Phase 1, with the Phase 1 examination from 16 to 20 April 2026, and 4 June 2026 as the last date for Phase 2, with that examination from 8 to 12 June 2026 — KIIT marks these as tentative and subject to change. Phases 3, 4 and 5 followed, and as of 17 August 2026 the Phase 5 application form was still open on the KIITEE site.
How the admission actually runs
- Apply online at kiitee.kiit.ac.in. No application or examination fee. Upload photograph, signature and Class 10 mark sheet or certificate to complete the application.
- Sit the computer-based KIITEE paper in your allotted phase. The admit card is hosted on the site and emailed; it is not posted.
- Attend counselling as scheduled after the phase result. Allotment is purely on entrance-exam merit and stops when the KIITEE quota seats are filled.
- Carry originals and ₹75,000 to the counselling centre. The list KIIT prescribes: admit card, rank card, Class 10 pass certificate, Class 12 mark sheet and pass certificate, diploma certificate and three years’ mark sheets for lateral entry, the relevant reservation certificate from the competent authority, and the graduation or degree certificate for the postgraduate courses that need one.
- Report on your scheduled day and pay the balance fee as per the fee structure issued to you.
Official sources: KIITEE 2026 Eligibility Criteria (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/eligibility-criteria); KIITEE 2026 Admission Policy (kiitee.kiit.ac.in/admission-policy); KIITEE 2026 homepage, “Important Instructions for KIITEE-2026 Phase-5 Examination” (kiitee.kiit.ac.in); KIITEE 2026 Information Brochure, 3 June 2026 edition, sections 1.3 and 5.0. All captured 17 August 2026.
Seats, scale and who actually studies at KIIT
In one line: a sanctioned engineering intake of 3,300 a year, 13,662 B.Tech students on the rolls, and a student body that is overwhelmingly from outside Odisha.
| Measure | Figure | Reading note |
|---|---|---|
| Sanctioned (approved) UG 4-year intake | 3,300 per year (unchanged across 2020-21 to 2023-24) | This is the engineering intake KIIT files with the Ministry. A single branch cannot therefore hold “1,000+ seats” and still leave room for the thirty-odd other branches KIIT lists — treat branch-level seat claims sceptically unless KIIT states them itself. |
| Total UG engineering students on rolls | 13,662 (6,826 male, 6,836 female) | All four years together, not one batch. |
| Home state vs outside | 97 from within Odisha · 12,467 from outside the state · 1,098 from outside India | Over 91% of the engineering cohort is from outside Odisha. If you are worried about being the only outstation student, this is the number that answers it. |
| Faculty entered in the return | 1,078 | Engineering faculty as filed for the ranking, not the university-wide headcount KIIT quotes in marketing. |
| Reservation within KIITEE quota seats | SC 15% · ST 7.5% · PC 3% · 30% of each category for women in B.Tech | Physically challenged category is restricted to locomotor disabilities of 40% or more. Unfilled reserved seats convert to General. |
Official sources: NIRF 2025 data submitted by Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology, institute ID IR-E-U-0356 (nirfindia.org); KIITEE 2026 Information Brochure, 3 June 2026 edition, section 6.0. Both captured 17 August 2026.
On the campus numbers. KIIT’s admissions site describes 25 green campuses spanning 36 square kilometres, 30 schools, 200+ academic programmes, 3,000+ faculty and researchers and 40,000+ students across the whole university. It also states plainly that KIIT “operates exclusively from its permanent campus in Bhubaneswar, Odisha, with no other campuses elsewhere”. So the numbered campuses are zones of one Bhubaneswar township. Reporting venues for 2026 were named in KIIT’s reporting schedule, with the exact time and venue confirmed to each candidate by email and SMS — so do not choose a branch on the basis of an unofficial claim about which campus it sits on.
Rankings, stated precisely. In NIRF 2025 KIIT is ranked 36th in Engineering with a score of 58.79 and 27th Overall with a score of 60.13. It is not an Institution of Eminence: the UGC’s published IoE list runs to twelve institutions — IISc Bengaluru, IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay, IIT Madras, IIT Kharagpur, University of Delhi, University of Hyderabad and Banaras Hindu University among the public ones, and BITS Pilani, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, O.P. Jindal Global University and Shiv Nadar University among the private ones — and KIIT is not on it. The claim turns up often enough in third-party write-ups that it is worth checking against the UGC list yourself before you weigh it in a decision.
KIIT vs VIT Vellore, Thapar and SRM Chennai
📌 In one line: KIIT is the cheapest of the four to apply to and the only one whose branch-wise tuition is not public; on published placement averages it sits below all three.
| Parameter | KIIT Bhubaneswar | VIT Vellore | Thapar Patiala | SRM Chennai (KTR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Status | Deemed to be University | Deemed — Institution of Eminence | Deemed to be University | Deemed to be University |
| NIRF 2025 Engineering | #36 | #11 | #29 | #14 |
| Entrance | KIITEE — no application or exam fee | VITEEE | JEE Main | SRMJEEE, or JEE Main in later phases |
| Published tuition | Not published for the Indian quota; NRI US$10,000/yr | ₹1,98,000–₹4,93,000/yr across five VITEEE-rank categories (≈₹7.9L–₹19.7L over four years) | CSE ₹6.5L/yr (₹26L total); Mech/Civil/Chem ₹4.97L/yr (₹19.9L total) | CSE Core ₹4.75L/yr (≈₹19L total); ECE/Mech/Civil ₹2.75L/yr |
| Published average CTC | ₹8.50 LPA (School of Technology, 2025 batch) | ₹9.23 LPA | ₹11.38 LPA overall; CSE ₹12–14 LPA | ₹6.66 LPA overall; CSE ≈₹9.5 LPA |
| Published highest CTC | ₹51.00 LPA (2025) | ₹1.02 Cr (2025, international) | ₹1.23 Cr (2025) | ₹65 LPA (2025) |
| Median filed with NIRF | ₹7.40 lakh (2023-24 UG engineering batch) | — | — | — |
Official sources: NIRF India Rankings 2025 (nirfindia.org) for every ranking cell; KIIT’s own 2025 placement report and NIRF return for the KIIT column. Peer fee and placement figures are the audited figures on our own VIT Vellore, Thapar and SRM Chennai pages, each sourced there to the institute’s own fee circular and placement disclosure. Captured 17 August 2026.
Comparing these four honestly. Only the highest-CTC row is like-for-like, and it is the least useful row on the table: one offer to one student says nothing about your outcome. The average-CTC row is closer to useful but still not comparable across colleges, because each institute chooses its own denominator — KIIT’s ₹8.50 LPA is a school-level average for the School of Technology, Thapar’s ₹11.38 LPA is institute-wide, SRM’s ₹6.66 LPA is institute-wide with CSE broken out separately. The one row you can trust across institutions is the NIRF median, which every ranked institute files to the same definition. Only KIIT’s is filled in below because that is the college this page is about; for the other three, open nirfindia.org, find the institute in the 2025 Engineering table and download its own data submission — the median sits in the placement block, and comparing those four medians is a fairer exercise than comparing four averages.
Decision tip: KIIT’s genuine advantages are a zero-cost entrance test that you can attempt without committing money, an unusually large and predominantly outstation cohort, and a self-contained residential township. Its genuine disadvantage against these three is that you cannot see the tuition before you are admitted, and its published placement average is the lowest of the four. If cost certainty matters to your family, VIT’s category table and Thapar’s branch-wise per-year figures let you plan four years in advance in a way KIIT currently does not.
Scholarships, and the campus you would actually live on
In one line: KIIT runs a KIITEE Scholarship Scheme, but the one thing it publishes plainly about it is who is excluded.
KIIT’s public pages refer to the KIITEE Scholarship Scheme and to a separate scholarship form for Indian Army personnel, and the slab structure is issued to admitted candidates rather than published as a table. Slab percentages you find quoted elsewhere are not sourced to a KIIT document, so treat them as unconfirmed until the scheme letter is in your hand. What KIIT does state clearly, and what changes a decision, is the exclusion: candidates appearing through Phase 5 are not eligible for any scholarship under the KIITEE Scholarship Scheme. If you intend to rely on a fee waiver, the phase you sit in is not a scheduling detail, it is the whole question.
On campus life, KIIT’s own pages describe a residential township in Patia with hostels for boys and girls, a dedicated international hostel, 24-hour reading rooms, sports complexes with swimming pools and gymnasiums, auditoriums and activity centres, campus-wide internet and on-campus medical services. The founder’s office also runs KISS, described on KIIT’s own founder page as a home for 80,000 tribal children from kindergarten to postgraduate level; it is a separate institution sharing the campus and the foundation, not part of the B.Tech programme you would be admitted to.
For students weighing the region: Bhubaneswar is Odisha’s capital, and KIIT’s cohort is drawn overwhelmingly from outside the state — 12,467 of its 13,662 engineering students, on KIIT’s own NIRF return. If you are coming from West Bengal, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Bihar or the North-East, you will not be an outlier there. If you want help matching your KIITEE phase, branch preference and budget, talk to a FindUrCollege counsellor — our guidance is free to the student. Reach us on WhatsApp or +91 91126 50438.
Frequently Asked Questions
Extended FAQs — KIIT Bhubaneswar 2026
Sources
Every figure on this page traces to one of the documents below. Each is named with its page path and the date we read it, so you can check any claim here against the original.
- KIIT Deemed to be University — Campus Placement 2025 Graduating Batch. kiit.ac.in/placement/campus-placement-2025-graduating-batch · captured 17 August 2026. Source for school-wise average and highest CTC, offer and company counts, and the recruiter tables.
- NIRF, Ministry of Education — data submitted by Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology, India Rankings 2025, institute ID IR-E-U-0356. nirfindia.org/nirfpdfcdn/2025/pdf/Engineering/IR-E-U-0356.pdf · captured 17 August 2026. Source for sanctioned intake, student strength, faculty count, and the median salary and placement rows.
- NIRF India Rankings 2025 — Engineering and Overall league tables. nirfindia.org/Rankings/2025/EngineeringRanking.html and /OverallRanking.html · captured 17 August 2026. Source for the #36 and #27 ranks and their scores, and for the peer ranks in the comparison table.
- KIITEE 2026 — Eligibility Criteria. kiitee.kiit.ac.in/eligibility-criteria · captured 17 August 2026. Source for the 60% PCM requirement, the qualifying-year window, the regular full-time schooling condition, the 1 July 2005 date of birth rule and the lateral entry criteria.
- KIITEE 2026 Information Brochure, 3 June 2026 edition. kiitee.kiit.ac.in/pdf/Information-Brochure-3rd-June-2026.pdf · captured 17 August 2026. Source for the exam pattern, the 150-minute duration, the marking scheme, the calendar of events and the reservation percentages.
- KIITEE 2026 — Counselling and Seat Allotment. kiitee.kiit.ac.in/counselling-and-seat-allotment · captured 17 August 2026. Source for the merit-only allotment rule, the document list, and the ₹75,000 payment that includes the ₹10,000 counselling registration fee.
- KIITEE 2026 — Admission Policy, Reporting schedule, and the Phase 5 instructions on the KIITEE homepage. kiitee.kiit.ac.in/admission-policy, /reporting and kiitee.kiit.ac.in · captured 17 August 2026. Source for the KIITEE-only policy, the 2026 branch list and reporting dates, and the Phase 5 scholarship exclusion.
- KIIT DU — International & NRI Admission Fees. kiitee.kiit.ac.in/international-application/international-nri-admission-fees · captured 17 August 2026. Source for the US$10,000 per annum undergraduate fee and the refund and registration-fee rules.
- KIIT DU — “What is the accreditation of KIIT?” and “Ranking and Recognitions”. kiit.ac.in/faq-items/what-is-the-accreditation-of-kiit and kiit.ac.in/about/ranking-recognition · captured 17 August 2026. Source for NAAC A++, NBA Tier 1, IET (UK) and ABET (USA) accreditation as stated by KIIT, and for the 1992 founding and 2004 university status.
- KIIT DU — Hostel Facility. kiit.ac.in/campuslife/hostel · captured 17 August 2026. Source for the hostel description and the 30% air-conditioned figure.
- UGC — Institutions of Eminence, official list. ioe.ugc.ac.in/Home/ListofIOE · captured 17 August 2026. Source for the finding that KIIT does not hold Institution of Eminence status.
Peer college fees and placement figures in the comparison table are the audited figures on our own VIT Vellore, Thapar Patiala and SRM Chennai pages, each traced there to that institute’s own fee circular and placement disclosure.
- Data sources: every fee, seat, ranking and placement figure above is taken from a named primary document — KIIT’s own website and admission publications, or KIIT’s data return to the Ministry of Education’s NIRF. Aggregator estimates are not used.
- Where a number is missing: KIIT does not publish branch-wise Indian tuition, hostel tariffs or branch-wise closing ranks. We say so rather than printing an estimate.
- Verification: figures are reissued each cycle and are subject to change. Confirm current details on the official university website, and in writing with your allotment papers, before making any admission or payment decision.
- Platform status: FindUrCollege is an independent platform. We are affiliated with many, but not all, listed institutions.
Related Colleges
Deemed and private engineering universities students shortlist alongside KIIT:
Related 2026 Admission Guides
More 2026 guides from FindUrCollege:
